Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Leticia González
University of Vienna
Institute of Theoretical Chemistry
Währinger Str. 17
1090 Vienna

+43 1 4277 52750

RID: G-7770-2012
ORCID: 0000-0001-5112-794X
Short Biography

Prof. González is currently the head of the Institute of Theoretical Chemistry within the Faculty of Chemistry, at the University of Vienna. Her current research focus is put at using highly accurate electronic structure methods, developing molecular reaction dynamical methods and interfacing both fields to achieve basic understanding of chemical processes and structure-function relationships as well as obtain quantitative predictions in molecules, biological systems and materials. Born in 1971 in Madrid, she graduated in Chemistry at the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain, and obtained her PhD with honors in Chemistry in 1998. In 1999 she moved to the Free University Berlin (Germany) as a postdoctoral research and obtained her Habilitation and venia legendi in 2004. She was appointed Professor at the Friedrich-Schiller-University of Jena (Germany) in 2007 and full Professor at the University of Vienna (Austria) in 2011. Among her recognitions, she was Heisenberg Fellow in 2007, received the Dirac Medal from the World Association of Theoretical and Computational Chemists in 2011, has been awarded the Löwdin lecturer in 2014 and a Honoris Causa doctorate by the University of Lorraine in 2018. She is author of more than 250 publications, she has delivered over 180 invited lectures all over the world and serves as a reviewer for numerous international journals and funding agencies.

Further information:

Awards & Prizes
  • 2019 Premio a la Excelencia Investigadora de la RSEQ
  • 2018 Fellow of the European Academy of Sciences
  • 2018 Doctor Honoris Causa, by the Université de Lorraine, France
  • 2018 Gauß Professorship, Göttingen Academy of Sciences and Humanities
  • 2018 ChemPubSoc Europe Fellow (Class 2016/2017)
  • 2018 Elected member of the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Sciences (IAQMS)
  • 2015 Guest Professor at the Université de Lorraine, France
  • 2014 Löwdin lecturer
  • 2013 Gesellschaft Österreichischer Chemiker (GÖCH) Lecturer
  • 2011 Dirac medal, "World Association of Theoretical and Computational Chemists"
  • 2006 Visiting Scientist at Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, USA
  • 2006 Heisenberg Stipendium, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)
  • 2005 Guest Professorship Award, Berliner Frauenförderung
  • 2005 SIGMA-ALDRICH Award for best Young Researchers, Spanish Royal Society of Chemistry, Spain
  • 2005 Rosalind-Franklin Fellowship, Rijksuniversiteit Groningen, Netherlands (not accepted)
  • 1999 Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship
  • 1999 Best PhD Thesis year 1998/1999, Faculty of Sciences, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid
  • 1995-1998 PhD Fellowship, Spanish Ministry of Sciences
  • 1994-1995 PhD Fellowship, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid
  • 1994-1995 Erasmus Scholarship

Functions & Memberships
  • Member of the Advisory Committee of the International Congress of Quantum Chemistry (ICQC) 2021
  • Member of the Scientific Committee of Quantum International Frontiers (QIF) 2019
  • Scientific Advisory Board of the Max Planck Institute for Coal Research (2018-2023)
  • Guest Editor for the 2019 Bunsendtagung themed issue of the Bunsen-Magazin
  • Member of the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science (IAQMS) (since 2018)
  • Member of the Advisory Board of IMAMPC 2019
  • International Advisory Committee of the ISTCP 2019
  • National representative of the IUPAC, Physical and Biophysical Chemistry Division (since 2015)
  • International Advisory Committee of WATOC 2020
  • Board member of the Arbeitsgemeinschaft Theoretische Chemie, spokeswoman (2017-2019)
  • Board member of the Arbeitsgemeinschaft Theoretische Chemie, vice spokeswoman (2015-2017)
  • Member of the Editorial Advisory Board of ChemPhotoChem (since 2015)
  • Editorial Board of Chem. Phys. Lett. (Elsevier) since 2012, Chemical Monthly (Springer) since 2012, Theoretical Chemical Accounts (Springer) since 2013 and ChemPhysChem (Wiley) from 2015
  • Board member of the Chemisch-Physikalische Gesellschaft (2015-2016)
  • Member of the Board of Directors of the „International Society for Theoretical Chemical Physics“ since 2012
  • Member of the advisory board at two international conferences (Femtochemistry, ESPA)
  • Organization of the 50. Symposium on Theoretical Chemistry 2014
  • Co-organization of COST Workshops for CM702 (Bordeaux 2007, London 2008, Dresden 2009, Creta 2010, Debrecen 2011, Cluj 2012)
  • Co-organization of COST Workshops for CM1201 (Vienna 2013, Jena 2014, Lund 2014)
  • Austrian delegate in the Management Committee of the COST Action CM1305 "Explicit Control Over Spin-states in Technology and Biochemistry (ECOSTBio)", (since 2014)
  • Austrian delegate in the Management Committee of the COST Action CM1204 "XUV/X-ray light and fast ions for ultrafast chemistry (XLIC) ", (since 2012)
  • Austrian delegate in the Management Committee of the COST Action CM1202 "Supramolecular photocatalytic water splitting (PERSPECT-H2O)" Leader of Workgroup 4 (since 2012)
  • Member of the Fakultätskonferenz (Advisory body of the Faculty of Chemistry) at the University of Vienna (since 2012)
  • Editorial board of Chem. Phys. Lett. (Elsevier), Theoretical Chemical Accounts (Springer) and Chemical Monthly (Springer)
  • Evaluation of scientific projects for the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), the National Science Foundation (NSF), the Spanish Ministry of Science and Education (MEC), and the Wiener Wissenschafts-, Forschungs und Technologiefonds (WWTF)
  • Referee in international scientific journals (Angewandte, PNAS, JACS, JPC, JCP, PCCP, CPL, CPC, CP, TCA, JCC, JCTC, etc)
  • Committee member in charge of admission students for the MSc Computational Science (Mitglied der Zulassungs- und Beratungskommission M.Sc. Computational Science) at the Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena (2008-2011)
  • Committee member in charge of students evaluation (Mitglied des Prüfungsausschusses für Chemie-Diplom) at the Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena (2007-2011)
  • Committee member to appoint new Professors in Chemistry, Physics and Informatics (Mitglied von Berufungskomissionen in Chemie, Physik und Informatik) at the Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena (2007-2011) and University of Vienna (2014)
  • German delegate in the Management Committee of the COST Action CM702 "Chemistry with ultrashort pulses and free-electron lasers (CUSPFEL)". Leader of Workgroup 3 (2008-2012)
  • GDCh, Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker
  • GÖCh, Gesellschaft Österreichischer Chemiker
  • RSEQ, Real Sociedad Española de Química (Spanish Royal Chemical Society)
  • DHV, Deutscher Hochschulverband
  • UPV, Österreichischer Universitätsprofessor/innenverband
  • DPG, Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft
  • AGTC, Arbeitsgemeinschaft Theoretische Chemie
  • CPG, Chemisch-Physikalische Gesellschaft
  • IUPAC, International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry